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We've divided these top 10 mistakes into 3
categories. Choose one of the links below for quick reference
or better yet read the entire page so that you don't fall into
this top 10.
A) Buying a house
B) Refinancing your house
C) Getting a home-equity loan
For most people, their home is the biggest
investment they will ever make. However, few people do the
research necessary to make a good buying decision. The
home-purchase process is extremely confusing for most people.
With a little bit of homework and with advice from family and
friends who have been through the process before, you can make
this a little easier on yourself. There is no substitute for
taking the time to educate yourself before you buy a
house--which typically costs you 25% to 40% of your gross
income!
Buying a house
Looking for a house without getting
pre-approved. Do not confuse a pre-approval with a
pre-qualification. During the pre-qualification process, a
loan officer asks you a few questions and hands you a pre-qual
letter. The pre-approval process is much more
complete.
During a pre-approval, the mortgage company
does all the work of a full-approval, except for the appraisal
and title search. When you are pre-approved, you become like a
CASH BUYER and have more negotiating clout with the seller. In
some cases (especially in multiple-offer situations), having a
pre-approval can make the difference between buying a home and
not buying a home. In other instances, home buyers have been
able to save thousands of dollars as a result of being in a
better negotiating situation.
Most good Realtors will
not show you homes before being pre-approved because they do
not want to waste your time, their time, and the seller's
time. Many mortgage companies will pre-approve you at little
or no cost. They typically will need to check your credit and
verify your income and assets.
Making verbal agreements! If an agent
makes you sign a written document that is contrary to their
verbal commitments, don't do it! Example:
the agent says that the washer will come with
the house, but the contract says that it will not. In this
case, the written contract will override the verbal contract.
In fact, written contracts almost always override verbal
contracts. Buying a house is a very complex process--but it's
a lot easier when everything is in writing.
Choosing a lender just because they have the
lowest rate. Not getting a written good-faith estimate.
While rate is important, you have to look at the
overall cost of your loan. This includes looking at the APR,
the loan fees, as well as the discount and origination points.
Some lenders add origination points into their quoted points
while other lenders add an origination point in addition to
their quoted points. So when one lenders says 2 points they
mean 2 points, whereas another lender means 2 points plus 1
origination point.
The cost of the mortgage, however,
cannot be your only criterion. There is no substitute for
asking family and friends for referrals and interviewing
prospective mortgage companies. You must also feel comfortable
that the loan officer you are dealing with is committed to
your best interests and will deliver what they promise. Often,
the company that has the absolute lowest quoted rate may not
be the best company for your mortgage business.
Choosing a lender just because they are
recommended by your Realtor. Your Realtor
is not a financial expert. They may not know what's the best
loan for you. The Realtor only gets a commission when your
house closes. As a result, the Realtor may refer you to a
lender that is sure to close the loan, but not necessarily the
lender that has favorable rates or fees. Also, many Realtors
refer you to their friends in the loan business--who again may
not be able to get the best loan for you. Even if the Realtor
is very professional and looking out for your best interest,
you should still do homework on your own.
We recommend
shopping for a loan with at least 3 mortgage companies before
you make a decision. There are countless stories of consumers
who wound up paying higher rates or getting a loan program
that was not right for them because they blindly followed
their Realtor's advice.
Not getting a rate lock in writing.
When a mortgage company tells you they have
locked your rate, get a written statement which details the
interest rate, the length of the rate lock, and details about
the program.
Using a dual agent--i.e. an agent who represents
the buyer and the seller on the same transaction.
Buyers and sellers have opposing interests. A
dual agent in most normal situations cannot be fair to both
the buyer and seller. Most dual agents represent the sellers
more strongly than they do the buyer. If you are a buyer, it
is much better to have your own agent who will be on your
side. The only time you should even consider a dual agent is
when you get a price break from using a dual agent. If that is
the case, then tread carefully and do your
homework!
Buying a house without a professional
inspection. Taking the sellers word that they have made
repairs. Unless you are buying a new house where you have
warranties on most equipment, it is highly recommended that
you get a property inspection, a roof inspection and a termite
inspection. This way you will know what you are buying.
Inspection reports are great negotiating tools when it comes
to asking the seller to make repairs. If a professional home
inspector states that certain repairs be done, the seller is
more likely to agree to do them.
If the seller agrees
to do the repairs, have your inspector verify that they are
done prior to close of escrow. Do not assume that everything
has been done the way it was promised.
Not shopping for home insurance until you are
ready to close. Start shopping for insurance as soon
as you have an accepted offer. Many buyers wait until the last
minute to get insurance and do not have time to shop
around.
Signing documents without reading them.
Do not sign documents in a hurry. Whenever
possible try to get documents that you will be signing ahead
of time so you can review them. It is advisable to ask for a
copy of all loan papers you are signing a few days ahead of
the close of escrow. This way you can review them and get your
questions answered. Do not expect to read all the documents
during the closing. There is rarely enough time to do
that.
Making your moving plans too tight. Example:
you expect to move out of your prior residence
on a Friday and into your new residence over the weekend. So
you give notice to your landlord to end your lease on a Friday
and arrange for movers to come to your house on Friday. Then,
your loan closing gets delayed until the next Tuesday. You now
may be homeless! New tenants could be moving into your
apartment, and the movers are going to charge you for wasting
their time. You could be forced to live in a motel for a
couple of days!
A Better Plan: allow for a
5-7 day overlap between closing and moving. In the long run it
is not nearly as expensive, and it will certainly give you
peace of mind.
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Refinancing
your house
Refinancing with your existing lender without
shopping around. Your existing lender may not have the
best rates and programs. There is a general misconception that
it is easier to work with your current mortgage company. In
most cases, your current mortgage company will require the
same documentation as other companies. This is because most
loans are sold on the secondary market and have to be approved
independently. So even if you have been very good at making
payments to your existing lender, they will still have to do
their verifications all over again.
Not doing a break-even analysis.
Find out what the total cost of the refinance
is, then figure out how much you will save every month. Divide
the total cost by the monthly savings to get the number of
months you will have to stay in the property to break even on
your refinancing costs. Example: if your
refinance costs $2000 and you save $50/month, your break-even
is 2000/50 = 40 months. You should refinance if you plan to
stay in the house for at least 40
months.
Note: The break-even
analysis only works if you are refinancing to save money. If
you are refinancing to switch from an adjustable to a fixed
loan, or from a 30-year loan to a 15-year loan, it is much
more difficult to perform a break-even analysis.
Not getting a written good-faith estimate of
closing costs. Your mortgage company is required to
provide you with a written good-faith estimate of closing
costs within 3 working days of receiving the
application.
Paying for an appraisal when you think that the
house may appraise too low. Have the
appraisal company do a desk review appraisal (typically at no
charge) to provide you with a range of possible values. Your
mortgage company can ask their appraiser to do this for you.
Do not waste your money on a full appraisal if you are
doubtful about the value of your house.
Using the county tax-assessors' value as the
market value of your house. Mortgage
companies do not use the county tax-assessors' value to
determine whether they will make the loan. Instead they use a
market-value appraisal which may be very different from the
assessed value.
Signing your loan documents without reviewing
them. Do not sign documents in a hurry. Whenever
possible try to get documents that you will be signing ahead
of time so you can review them. It is advisable to ask for a
copy of all loan papers you are signing a few days ahead of
the close of escrow. This way you can review them and get your
questions answered. Do not expect to read all the documents
during the closing. There is rarely enough time to do
that.
Not providing documents to your mortgage company
in a timely manner. When your mortgage company asks you
for additional paperwork, jump on it! Do not complain. They
are trying to get you approved, not trying to hassle you
unnecessarily! Jump through the hoops as quickly as possible.
Borrowers who do not respond to requests for documentation
quickly enough run the risk of paying higher rates if the rate
lock expires.
Not getting a rate lock in writing.
When a mortgage company tells you they have
locked your rate, get a written statement which details the
interest rate, the length of the rate lock and details about
the program.
Pulling cash out of your credit line before you
refinance your first mortgage. Many lenders
have "cash-out" seasoning requirements. This means that if you
pull cash out of your credit line for anything other than home
improvements, they will consider the refinance to be a
"cash-out" refinance. This leads to much stricter requirements
and can in some cases break the deal!
Getting a second mortgage before you refinance
your first mortgage. Many mortgage companies look at the
combined loan amounts (i.e. the first loan plus the second)
even when they are refinancing the first mortgage. If you plan
on refinancing your first, check with your mortgage company to
find out if getting a second will cause your refinance to get
turned down.
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Getting a
home-equity loan
Not checking to see if your loan has a
pre-payment penalty clause. If you are
getting a "NO FEE" home-equity loan, chances are that it has a
hefty pre-payment penalty clause. This can be very important
if you are planning to sell your house or refinance in the
next 3-5 years.
Getting too large a credit line.
When you get too large a credit line, you can
get turned down for other loans, because some lenders
calculate your payments based on the available credit and not
just the used credit. Having a large equity line indicates a
large potential payment, which makes it difficult to qualify
for loans. Note : this argument holds even if your equity line
has a zero balance.
Not understanding the difference between an
equity loan and an equity line. An equity
loan is closed--i.e. you get all your money up front
and then make fixed payments on that loan, until you pay it
off. An equity line is open--i.e. you can get an
initial advance against the line and then reuse the line as
often as you want during the period that the line is open.
Most equity lines are accessed through a checkbook or a credit
card. On equity lines, you only pay interest on the
outstanding balance.
Use an equity loan when you need
all the money up front--e.g. home improvement, debt
consolidation.
Use an equity line if you have an
ongoing need for money or need the money for a future
event--e.g. you need to pay for your child's college tuition
in 3 years.
Not checking the life cap on your equity line.
Many credit lines have life caps of 18%. Be
prepared to pay payments at higher interest levels if rates
move upwards.
Getting a home-equity loan from your local bank
without shopping around. Many consumers
get their equity line from the bank that they have a checking
account with. Use your bank, but shop around
first.
Not getting a good-faith estimate of closing
costs. Your mortgage company is required to provide you
with a written good-faith estimate of closing costs within 3
working days of receiving the application.
Assuming that your home-equity loan is tax
deductible. In some instances, your home-equity loan is NOT
tax deductible. Perhaps you make too much and fall into the
AMT trap, or perhaps you have pulled out more than $100,000
cash from your home. Do not depend on your mortgage company
for information regarding this matter--check with an
accountant or CPA.
Assuming that a home-equity loan is always
cheaper than a car loan or a credit card. A credit card
at 6.9% is cheaper than a credit line at 12% even after the
tax deduction. To compare rates, compute the effective rate of
your home-equity loan, with the rate on a credit card or auto
loan. Effective rate = rate * (1 - tax_bracket) Example
: If the rate of the home-equity loan is 12% and your tax
bracket is 30%, your effective rate is : 12% * (1-0.3) =
12%*0.7 = 8.4% If your credit card is higher than 8.4%,
then the equity loan is cheaper, otherwise it is
not. Besides the interest rate, you may also want to
compare monthly payments and other terms of the
loan.
Getting a home-equity line of credit if you plan
to refinance your first mortgage in the near future.
Many mortgage companies look at the combined
loan amounts (i.e. the first loan plus the second) even when
they are refinancing the first mortgage. If you plan on
refinancing your first, check with your mortgage company to
find out if getting a second will cause your refinance to get
turned down.
Getting a home-equity line to pay off your
credit cards if your spending is out of
control! When you pay off your credit cards with your
equity line, don't go out and charge up those credit cards
again and put your house on the line! If you can't manage the
plastic, tear it up!
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